Ešenvalds, Zariņš and choir LATVIJA. Letters




Koncertzāle CĒSIS

Reinis Zariņš, piano

State Choir Latvija

Conductor Māris Sirmais


One of the grand concerts marking the 10th anniversary of Cēsis Concert Hall with appearances by outstanding Latvian artists.

The first part of the programme will present an extraordinary interplay between the choir and the pianist: opuses by John Tavener, performed a cappella by the State Choir Latvija, will be followed by a response from Reinis Zariņš through piano pieces by Olivier Messiaen.

The second part of the concert will see the world premiere of a new piece by Ēriks Ešenvalds, a symphony for piano and choir ‘Letters’. The symphony is set to fragments of the final texts ever written by a number of Latvian writers and poets: Imants Ziedonis, Jānis Poruks, Māris Čaklais, Regīna Ezera, Aspazija, Rainis and others.

‘The symphonism of their thoughts keeps digging mountains, and they – the ones who have departed – keep writing. Aspazija keeps writing, Vācietis keeps writing, the two Bārdas, Belševica, Ziemeļnieks…

As a white-black key strikes a string in the manuscript, the silence grows as huge as their mountains. And I want to hold on to the harmony just a little longer…’ says the composer about his new piece.

May 11, 2024.